Skip navigation

Say hello to an angel

Say hello to an angel

Porsche and I got in the studio yesterday to work on some photos for my Brighthub article on avoiding blurry photos (should be up in the next few days).

After we got those images out of the way, we discussed some ideas for future images. Porsche, who is a delight to photograph, often brings interesting creative insights into the photographic process, so I like to explain my ideas to her and see what she thinks.

Since my studio has some beautiful stained glass windows, I often incorporate them into photos. There’s a shot I’ve been thinking about for a while and Porsche is one of the models I want to use for it, so we set up a practice shoot to help me prepare. (Sorry, the idea will remain secret a while longer.)

One of the keys to making this image is to take advantage of the outside light streaming through the stained glass windows. This provides a beautiful glow to the image, but is also easily washed out if the main light is too bright. You need some kind of main light for the subject otherwise you end up with just a silhouette (which also makes for a nice photo).

Making this image work requires a technique known as “dragging the shutter.” Namely, the photographer sets a shutter speed that’s slow enough to record the light shining through the window and then uses the flash (in this case an Alien Bees 1600 with Photek Softlighter II) to light the model. The photographer then sets the f-stop to control the exposure from the flash. The info on this image is ISO 100, 1/8th of a second exposure and f11, with the Alien Bees strobe dialed down to about 1/4 power.

Porsche’s sporting a new look hairstyle btw, one that highlights her beautiful face.

One Comment

  1. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,


Leave a Reply

