Skip navigation

New Year’s Day is a good time for reassessment and listing new goals. As 2012 begins, I resolve to make the following my goals for the new year.

  • I will post at least one blog entry a week every week of the year.
  • I will write at least four books
  • I will produce and display an exhibition of my work
  • I will apply to at least two artist in residence programs
  • I will do at least one creative shoot a week this year

These goals are ambitious, but achievable. That’s one of the things a photographer should consider in goal setting. It’s fine to have a “reach for the sky” goal (and your list should include at least one such goal). When setting such a goal, ask yourself, “Is this something I can achieve on my own, or is it something that relies on outside forces to happen?” 

Only one of my goals falls into the latter category, the one to get an exhibition of my work. All the others are things I can make happen on my own. There’s nothing stopping me from applying to an artist in residence program, but I don’t have a lot of control over whether I’m selected or not, but the mere process of trying to achieve this goal calls for me to ruthlessly examine my portfolio to look for the five or six images to submit (perhaps giving me a start to an exhibition portfolio). It will also help me to express my artistic philosophy and work on getting my photos out there in new ways. 

A good goal is one that helps you grow as well as accomplish something. This way even if you don’t achieve it, you’ve still made some progress and grown in some way. 

Wish me luck everyone and know I’m willing to do the same for you. If you like, post your goals here. If you have any questions you think I can help with, don’t hesitate to ask.

Dan Simon

Leave a Reply

